أكتوبر هو الشهر الوطني للتوعية بسرطان الثدي

بقلم: طاقم رعاية المرأة في فلوريدا

في المتوسط ​​، واحدة من كل ثماني نساء سيتم تشخيص إصابتها بسرطان الثدي في حياتهن. توجد سرطانات الثدي بشكل شائع لدى النساء اللائي تتراوح أعمارهن بين 55 و 85 عامًا ، لكن سرطان الثدي قد يصيب النساء في أي عمر.

إيفان توميل ، دكتوراه في الطب ، هي جراح ثدي حاصل على زمالة مع رعاية المرأة. يشجع الدكتور Tummel النساء على الحفاظ على وزن صحي من خلال ممارسة التمارين الروتينية واتباع نظام غذائي متوازن لتقليل مخاطرهن.

وقال إن "جمعية السرطان الأمريكية تشجع النساء على بدء تصوير الثدي بالأشعة السينية سنويًا في سن الأربعين ، أو وفقًا لما نصح به مزودهم". في الواقع ، قد تحتاج النساء اللاتي لديهن تاريخ عائلي من الإصابة بسرطان الثدي إلى الفحص حتى قبل ذلك. لا توجد أداة أفضل لفحص سرطان الثدي من تصوير الثدي بالأشعة السينية. ابتداءً من سن العشرين ، يجب على النساء إجراء فحوصات شهرية للثدي. الوعي الذاتي مهم - أنت تعرف جسدك ".

يسمح الفحص الذاتي الشهري للثدي للنساء بالتعرف على الكتل الجديدة أو الطفح الجلدي أو عدم التناسق أو الإفرازات غير المعتادة أو الرقة. إذا اكتشفت أي شيء جديد أو خارج عن المألوف أثناء الاختبار الذاتي الشهري ، فمن الضروري الاتصال بمزودك. لن يؤدي تأخير الرعاية إلى اختفاء الموقف. إن اكتشاف سرطان الثدي في مراحله المبكرة يعطي المرأة أفضل فرصة للتغلب على السرطان. بالنسبة لمعظم النساء ، يعتبر التصوير الشعاعي للثدي أفضل طريقة للفحص.

وتذكر الدكتورة توميل النساء ، "تستفيد (النساء) اليوم من عقود من الأبحاث حول سرطان الثدي. لا توجد أداة أفضل لفحص سرطان الثدي من تصوير الثدي بالأشعة السينية ".

عندما يكون لدى المرضى تصوير شعاعي غير طبيعي للثدي ، يتم تحويلهم من قبل أطباء أمراض النساء أو طبيب الرعاية الأولية إلى جراح الثدي ، مثل الدكتور توميل. سيناقش جميع خيارات العلاج مع المريض لأنه يدرك أن هذا وقت مخيف بالنسبة لهم. وفقا ل جمعية السرطان الأمريكية، متوسط ​​معدلات البقاء على قيد الحياة لمدة 5 سنوات لجميع النساء المصابات بسرطان الثدي حوالي 90٪

لم ينته الوباء ، لكن الرعاية الروتينية لا يمكن أن تتأخر. تبنت رعاية المرأة ممارسات السلامة المعززة للحفاظ على المواقع آمنة ونظيفة. اتصل بمزودك اليوم لتحديد موعد التصوير الشعاعي للثدي السنوي ، أو إذا كنت تعانين من أعراض جديدة أو تتعلق بالثدي.

اترك تعليق

October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month

By: Women's Care Florida Staff

On average, one in eight women will be diagnosed with breast cancer in their lifetime. Breast cancers are commonly found in women ages 55-85, but breast cancer may affect women at any age.

Evan Tummel, MD, is a fellowship-trained breast surgeon with Women’s Care. Dr. Tummel encourages women to maintain a healthy weight with routine exercise and a balanced diet to minimize their risks.

“American Cancer Society encourages women to begin annual mammograms at the age of 40, or as advised by their provider, he said.  In fact, women who have a family history of breast cancer, may need to be screened even earlier. There is no better screening tool for breast cancer than a mammogram. Starting in their 20’s women should perform monthly breast exams. Self-awareness is important- you know your body.”

A monthly breast self-exam allows women to recognize new lumps, rashes, asymmetry, unusual discharge, or tenderness. If you discover anything new or out of the ordinary during your monthly self-exam, it’s imperative to contact your provider. Delaying care will not make the situation go away. Catching breast cancer in the early stages gives women the best chance of beating cancer. For most women, annual mammography is the best screening method.

Dr. Tummel reminds women, “Today (women) benefit from decades of research on breast cancer. There is no better screening tool for breast cancer than a mammogram.”

When patients have abnormal mammograms, they are referred by their gynecologists or primary care physician to a breast surgeon, like, Dr. Tummel. He will discuss all the treatment options with the patient as he understands this is a scary time for them. According to the American Cancer Society, 5-year average survival rates for all women diagnosed with breast cancer is roughly 90%

The pandemic isn’t over, but routine care cannot be delayed. Women’s Care has adopted enhanced safety practices to keep locations safe and clean. Contact your provider today to schedule your annual mammogram, or if you are experiencing new or concerning breast symptoms.

Leave a Reply