十月是全国乳腺癌宣传月

创建人:佛罗里达妇女保健人员

平均而言,八分之一的女性一生中将被诊断出患有乳腺癌。 乳腺癌通常在55-85岁的女性中发现,但乳腺癌可能会影响任何年龄的女性。

医学博士Evan Tummel 是一位经过妇联培训的,经过研究金培训的乳房外科医生。 Tummel博士鼓励女性通过常规运动和均衡饮食来保持健康的体重,以最大程度地降低其风险。

他说:“美国癌症协会鼓励女性从40岁开始,或按照其提供者的建议开始进行年度乳房X线照片。 实际上,有乳腺癌家族史的女性可能需要更早进行筛查。 没有比乳腺X线照片更好的乳腺癌筛查工具。 从20多岁的女性开始,应该每月进行一次乳房检查。 自我意识很重要-您了解自己的身体。”

每月进行一次乳房自我检查,可使妇女识别新的肿块,皮疹,不对称,异常分泌物或压痛。 如果您在每月的自我检查中发现任何新奇或异常之处,则必须联系您的服务提供者。 延迟护理不会使情况消失。 在早期阶段感染乳腺癌为女性提供了击败癌症的最佳机会。 对于大多数女性来说,年度乳房X光检查是最好的检查方法。

Tummel博士提醒女性:“今天(女性)受益于数十年来的乳腺癌研究。 没有比乳房X线照片更好的乳腺癌筛查工具。”

当患者的乳房X线照片异常时,他们的妇科医生或初级保健医师会将其转介给乳房外科医师,例如Tummel博士。 他将与患者讨论所有治疗方案,因为他知道这对他们来说是一个可怕的时刻。 根据 美国癌症协会,所有被诊断出患有乳腺癌的女性的5年平均生存率约为90%

大流行尚未结束,但是常规治疗不能被延迟。 妇女护理部采取了增强的安全措施,以确保场所安全清洁。 立即与您的提供者联系以安排您的年度乳房X线照片,或者如果您遇到新的或与乳房有关的症状。

发表评论

[已停用]
[已停用]

fbpx

October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month

By: Women's Care Staff

On average, one in eight women will be diagnosed with breast cancer in their lifetime. Breast cancers are commonly found in women ages 55-85, but breast cancer may affect women at any age.

Evan Tummel, MD, is a fellowship-trained breast surgeon with Women’s Care. Dr. Tummel encourages women to maintain a healthy weight with routine exercise and a balanced diet to minimize their risks.

“American Cancer Society encourages women to begin annual mammograms at the age of 40, or as advised by their provider, he said.  In fact, women who have a family history of breast cancer may need to be screened even earlier. There is no better screening tool for breast cancer than a mammogram. Starting in their 20’s women should perform monthly breast exams. Self-awareness is important- you know your body.”

A monthly breast self-exam allows women to recognize new lumps, rashes, asymmetry, unusual discharge, or tenderness. If you discover anything new or out of the ordinary during your monthly self-exam, it’s imperative to contact your provider. Delaying care will not make the situation go away. Catching breast cancer in the early stages gives women the best chance of beating cancer. For most women, annual mammography is the best screening method.

Dr. Tummel reminds women, “Today (women) benefit from decades of research on breast cancer. There is no better screening tool for breast cancer than a mammogram.”

When patients have abnormal mammograms, they are referred by their gynecologists or primary care physician to a breast surgeon, like, Dr. Tummel. He will discuss all the treatment options with the patient as he understands this is a scary time for them. According to the American Cancer Society, 5-year average survival rate for all women diagnosed with breast cancer is roughly 90%.

Mammograms and the COVID-19 Vaccine

Some women who receive the COVID-19 vaccine develop swollen lymph notes under their arm on the same side as their vaccine injection. This is the normal reaction to a vaccine, however swollen lymph nodes under the arm can be seen on a mammogram and can be a rare sign of breast cancer. Try to schedule your screening mammogram before your first COVID-19 vaccine dose or at least four weeks after your second vaccine dose. This reduces the chance that swollen lymph nodes from the vaccine will appear on your mammogram. Read more from the Society of Breast Imaging.

The pandemic isn’t over, but routine care cannot be delayed. Women’s Care has adopted enhanced safety practices to keep locations safe and clean. Contact your provider today to schedule your annual mammogram, or if you are experiencing new or concerning breast symptoms.

Leave a Reply

[disabled]
[disabled]