更年期治疗方案

由: 医学博士April Merritt

两名更年期泌尿生殖系统综合症的非洲裔美国老妇在户外愉快地交谈时锻炼

当您说“更年期”一词时,女人可能会同情地看着您,而男人可能会以不安的恐惧来看着您。 更年期这个词是非常好的,来自希腊语,字面意思是“每月暂停”。

什么是更年期?

绝经的真正定义是当您停止月经周期达12个月时。 但是,更年期通常不仅仅意味着停止月经周期。 它可能伴有潮热,盗汗,阴道干燥,性欲降低,烦躁不安,情绪困扰,皮肤干燥和头发稀疏。 更有趣的是,在绝经前后,您可能会出现多年的各种症状,称为绝经期。

您并不总是有更年期的症状。 少数妇女可能没有症状。 更年期是自然发生的情况,也可以通过摘除卵巢使其运动。 我常常被问到:“如果这是自然发生的,那么我应该自然而然地让它发生而什么也不做。 对?” 答案取决于您症状的严重程度。 有时症状如此频繁或严重,以至于打断了日常生活。 正是这些时候,您应该知道有治疗方法。 没有人会因更年期症状而遭受痛苦。 那么,您有哪些治疗选择?

治疗选择

1.非处方药(OTC)或自然疗法。 此选项有多种疗法。 有黑色升麻和唐基酒,一起出售为“ Estroven”。 这种组合可以减少潮热和盗汗。 另一个非处方选择是“ icool”,一种大豆补品,也可以减少潮热。 最近,Relizen开始在美国销售。这是一种由瑞典花粉花提取物制成的天然补品,据称可以减少潮热和盗汗。 如果您走过杂货店,您会看到各种“更年期茶”,这些茶也可以减轻症状。 但是,如果您尝试这些,但仍在遭受痛苦,该怎么办?

2. SSRI或选择性XNUMX-羟色胺再摄取抑制剂。 Effexor是一种抗抑郁药,低剂量可帮助潮热。 有好处的是,它也可以帮助缓解与更年期相关的情绪和烦躁情绪。 并非所有的抗抑郁药都可以这种方式使用。 但是,Effexor是可以工作的一种。

3.激素替代疗法(HRT)。 在讨论HRT时,我们通常指雌激素和孕酮。 引起潮热和盗汗的原因是雌激素的流失。 如果更换它,则应消除潮热。 如果您正在服用雌激素并且仍然有子宫,那么孕酮是必需的。 子宫对雌激素有反应,并会形成一层内衬,导致出血。 规定使用孕激素来保护子宫并防止其形成内衬。 孕酮在某些情况下也可以帮助睡眠。 HRT的不利之处在于这不是一种良性治疗。 它可能有副作用,例如血压升高和腿部血块。 这些很少见,但有可能发生。 一些具有强烈的乳腺癌家族史或个人乳腺癌史的女性可能不符合HRT的条件。

4.睾丸激素疗法。 为什么“男性荷尔蒙”可以帮助您更年期? 我们由雌激素和睾丸激素组成。 在我们体内,我们有一种叫做芳香酶的酶。 芳香酶将睾丸激素分解成可用的睾丸激素(可增加性欲)和雌激素(有助于抵抗潮热)。 获得睾丸激素的最好方法是每三至四个月放置一次颗粒。 但是,有些女性也对睾丸激素霜有反应。

底线是我们都不同,我们对更年期的处理也不同。 在佛罗里达州女性护理中心,服务提供者可以与您坐下来评估您的症状并制定为您量身定制的治疗策略。 对一个人有效的方法可能对另一个人无效。 我们在这里可以帮助您找到适合您症状的治疗方法。 不要受苦,因为“自然”发生的事情会对您产生负面影响。 请与佛罗里达州女性保健服务提供商联系以寻求帮助.

[已停用]
[已停用]

Menopause Treatment Options

By: April Merritt, MD

When you say the word menopause, women may look at you sympathetically while men may look at you with uncomfortable fear. The word menopause is quite benign, coming from the Greek word that literally means “monthly pause.”

What is menopause?

The true definition of menopause is when you stop having a menstrual cycle for 12 months. However, menopause usually means much more than just stopping your menstrual cycle. It can be accompanied by hot flashes, night sweats, vaginal dryness, decreased sex drive, irritability, emotional distress, dry skin and thinning hair. To make it even more interesting, you can have any variety of symptoms for years leading up to and after menopause, known as perimenopause.

You do not always have symptoms with menopause; a small number of women may have no symptoms. Menopause is a natural occurrence, or it can be set in motion by removal of the ovaries. Often, I get asked, “If it is a natural occurrence, then I should just naturally let it happen and do nothing. Right?” The answer depends on your severity of symptoms. Sometimes the symptoms are so frequent or great that it interrupts daily life. It is these times that you should know there is treatment. There is no reason for someone to suffer through the symptoms of menopause. So, what are your treatment options?

 

 

Treatment Options

1. Over the counter (OTC) or natural therapy. This option comes as a variety of therapies. There is black cohosh and don qui, together sold as “Estroven.” This combination can decrease hot flashes and night sweats. Another over the counter option is “icool”, a soy supplement that can also decrease hot flashes. Recently, Relizen began being sold in the U.S. This is a natural supplement made from Swedish pollen flower extract, which is marketed as saying it can decrease hot flashes and night sweats. If you walk through the grocery store, you can see a variety of “menopausal tea” that is meant to decrease symptoms as well. But what if you try these, and you are still suffering?

2. SSRI or Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitor. Effexor is an antidepressant that, at low doses, can help hot flashes. As an upside, it can also help with moodiness and irritability associated with menopause. Not all antidepressants can be used in this manner; however, Effexor is one that can work.

3. Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT). When discussing HRT, we usually mean estrogen and progesterone. Loss of estrogen is what causes the hot flashes and night sweats. If you replace it, it should eliminate the hot flashes. Progesterone is necessary if you are on estrogen and still have a uterus. The uterus will respond to estrogen and can build a lining, leading to bleeding. Progesterone is prescribed to protect the uterus and keep it from building up a lining. Progesterone can also help with sleep in some cases. The downside to HRT is that is not a benign treatment. It can have side effects like elevated blood pressure and blood clots in the leg. These are rare but can happen. Some women with a strong family history of breast cancer or personal history of breast cancer may not be eligible for HRT.

4. Testosterone Therapy. Why would the “male hormone” help you in menopause? We are made up of estrogen and testosterone. In our bodies, we have an enzyme called aromatase. Aromatase breaks down testosterone into usable testosterone (which can increase the sex drive) and estrogen (to help fight hot flashes). The best way to get testosterone is through pellets placed every three to four months; however, some women respond to testosterone cream as well.

The bottom line is we are all different, and we handle menopause differently. At Women’s Care, a provider can sit down with you to evaluate your symptoms and develop a treatment strategy customized for you. What works for one person may not work for another. We are here to help you find the treatment that fits your symptoms. Do not suffer because something that happens “naturally” is affecting you in a negative way. Contact your Women’s Care provider for help.

[disabled]
[disabled]