麻疹暴发:如何保护自己免受麻疹病例的侵害

创建人:佛罗里达妇女保健人员

麻疹是由高度传染性病毒引起的,这些病毒通过咳嗽和打喷嚏通过呼吸道颗粒传播。 咳嗽或打喷嚏后留下的水滴会在感染者离开房间两个小时后感染某人。 症状通常在接触后14到XNUMX天开始。 最近,由于未接种疫苗的人感染麻疹,在美国爆发了麻疹。 了解如何保护自己免受麻疹病例的侵害。

我们为什么现在谈论麻疹?

美国认为自2000年以来已消除了麻疹病例,但我们仍继续看到每年爆发麻疹。 但是,在美国没有发生感染。在过去的20年中,在美国几乎所有报告的病例都发生在外国游客或访问外国时感染该疾病的美国人。 几乎所有麻疹病例均来自未接种疫苗的人。

截至2019年800月上旬,美国23个州共发现了1994多例麻疹病例,这是XNUMX年以来单年度最高的病例。一些受灾最严重的麻疹暴发地区具有重要的国际旅游业,包括东北和西海岸。 佛罗里达州有四个高风险县:布劳沃德,迈阿密戴德,奥兰治和希尔斯伯勒。

麻疹有什么症状?

麻疹最出名的是从头部开始的红色斑点皮疹。 它沿着躯干一直向下,然后到达手臂和腿部。 被感染的人可以在皮疹出现前四天到皮疹出现后四天传播麻疹。 其他症状包括高烧,咳嗽,流鼻涕和红色,水汪汪的眼睛。 这些症状可能进展并导致肺炎(20例中的1,000例),称为脑炎的脑部感染(XNUMX例中的XNUMX例)或耳聋(罕见)。 免疫系统受损的人发生并发症的风险更高。 这些包括接受透析或化疗的人,因为他们的免疫系统较弱,无法很好地抵抗感染。

感染可能对儿童和孕妇产生毁灭性影响。 每1名感染麻疹的儿童中约有2至1,000人患麻疹。 孕妇可以流产,死产或早产。 此外,它们可以分娩体重特别低的婴儿。

总体而言,多达四分之一的麻疹患者可能会生病,需要住院治疗。 与其他人群相比,患有麻疹的孕妇更有可能需要住院治疗。

如何预防麻疹

我们可以防止麻疹与 MMR疫苗。 该疫苗还可以在暴露前抵抗腮腺炎和风疹。 也, 一种叫做MMRV的疫苗 增加对水痘或水痘的保护。 由于麻疹的高收缩力,暴露,未接种疫苗的人很容易接触该疾病。

此外,不存在有助于麻疹的抗生素,因此疫苗尤为重要。 治疗包括支持性护理,例如可以在家照顾的感染者的休息和补液。 有些病得很严重的人可能需要输液,甚至需要呼吸机。

我应该什么时候接种疫苗?

应该从12到15个月大的第一次剂量和4到6岁大的第二剂量开始对儿童接种两次疫苗。 如果您打算带一个不到一岁的婴儿出国旅行,疾病预防控制中心建议11个月至97个月的婴儿单次MMR剂量。 六个月以下的孩子通常不接种疫苗,只要母亲在怀孕前进行了疫苗接种,就可以从母亲在她的系统中传播的抗体中受益。 与未接种疫苗的婴儿一起旅行到已报告麻疹病例的地区时,应格外小心。 两剂疫苗可预防XNUMX%的麻疹暴发。

如果不确定自己接种了疫苗怎么办?

如果您出生于1957年之前,则无需接种疫苗。 在那个时期麻疹非常流行,以至于您极有可能免疫。 麻疹疫苗于1963年首次面市。如果您是1957年以后出生的,并且不确定自己是否已接种疫苗,可以通过简单的验血来告诉您是否具有免疫力。 如果您没有免疫力并且已经上大学,则建议接种两剂疫苗。 两次剂量应至少间隔一个月。 如果您的年龄在20到60年代初之间,则您的免疫力可能会下降,您应该考虑进行血液检查或单次MMR加强剂量。 如果医护人员无法通过血液检查免疫,则应考虑两剂全程治疗。

孕妇可以接种疫苗吗?

专家认为MMR是一种活疫苗。 这意味着它代表活疫苗的稀释剂量。 因此,医生在怀孕期间不建议服用剂量。 有报告指出,孕妇在怀孕期间意外接种了疫苗,但没有关于母婴结局不良的报道。

但是,如果您打算怀孕,请在受孕之前进行麻疹免疫力血液测试。 如果没有免疫力,则可以接种MMR疫苗。 此外,计划在接种疫苗后至少等待四个星期再尝试受孕。 怀孕期间,如果您接受了无免疫力的检测,请在分娩后接种疫苗。 接种疫苗后,您仍然可以母乳喂养。

怀孕时患麻疹

如果孕妇患有麻疹或怀疑没有免疫力,则应咨询其提供者以接受专门医疗。 麻疹免疫球蛋白可以在接触后六天内通过静脉注射以降低感染风险。 如果你有 有关MMR疫苗的其他问题, 务必 询问您的佛罗里达女性护理服务提供者.

发表评论

Measles Outbreak: How to Protect Yourself from Measles Cases

By: Women's Care Florida Staff

Measles is caused by a highly contagious virus transmitted through respiratory particles via coughing and sneezing. The droplets left behind after a cough or sneeze can infect someone up to two hours after the infected person leaves the room. Symptoms generally begin seven to 14 days after exposure. Recently, a measles outbreak occurred in the United States due to unvaccinated people contracting it. Learn how to protect yourself from measles cases.

Why are we talking about measles now?

The U.S. considered measles cases eliminated since 2000, yet we continue to see a measles outbreak each year. However, no infections occurred within the U.S. Virtually all cases reported in the U.S. in the last 20 years occurred in foreign visitors or Americans who contracted the illness while visiting a foreign country. Nearly all measles cases have been from unvaccinated individuals.

As of early May 2019, more than 800 cases of measles have been identified in the U.S. across 23 states, the highest number of cases in a single year since 1994. Some of the hardest-hit measles outbreak areas have significant international tourism, including in the Northeast and along the West Coast. Florida has four high-risk counties: Broward, Miami-Dade, Orange, and Hillsborough.

What are the symptoms of measles?

Measles is best known for a red-spotted rash that starts at the head. It works its way down across the torso and then to the arms and legs. Infected individuals can spread measles four days before the rash appears and up to four days after the rash appears. Other symptoms include high fever, cough, runny nose, and red, watery eyes. These symptoms can progress and lead to pneumonia (one in 20 cases), a brain infection called encephalitis (one in 1,000 cases), or deafness (rare). People with a compromised immune system have a much higher risk of complications. These include those on dialysis or on chemotherapy as their weak immune system can’t fight off the infection well.

The infection can have devastating effects on children and pregnant women. Measles can lead to death in about 1 to 2 in 1,000 children with the infection. Pregnant women can have a miscarriage, stillborn, or preterm birth. In addition, they can deliver particularly low birth weight infants.

Overall, up to one in four people with measles can become sick enough to require hospitalization. Pregnant women with measles are more likely to need hospitalization than other sectors of the population.

How to protect yourself from measles

We can prevent contracting measles with the MMR vaccine. This vaccine can also fight mumps and rubella before exposure. Also, a vaccine called MMRV adds protection against Varicella or chickenpox. Due to measles’ high contractility, an exposed, unvaccinated person can easily contact the disease.

Furthermore, no antibiotic exists to help measles making the vaccine especially important. Treatment includes supportive care, such as rest and fluids for infected individuals who can manage at home. Some people who become extremely sick may require IV fluids and even ventilators.

When should I vaccinate?

Children should be vaccinated twice beginning with the first dose at age 12 to 15 months and the second dose at age 4 to 6 years. If you plan to travel abroad with a baby less than one-year-old, the CDC recommends a single MMR dose for infants ages six through 11 months. Children less than six months old are generally not vaccinated and may get the benefit of their mother’s antibodies that circulated in her system while she was pregnant with the baby, as long as the mother was vaccinated prior to pregnancy. Exercise considerable caution when traveling with an unvaccinated infant to areas where measles cases have been reported. Two doses of vaccine provide a 97 percent protection rate against a measles outbreak.

What can I do if I’m not sure I’m vaccinated?

If you were born before 1957, you do not need to be vaccinated. Measles was so prevalent at that time period that it is extremely likely you are immune. The measles vaccine first became available in 1963. If you were born after 1957 and you are not sure if you have been vaccinated, a simple blood test can tell you if you have immunity. If you are not immune and are college-age, the two-dose course of vaccinations is recommended. The two doses should be separated by at least one month. If you are between 20 and early 60s, your immunity may have waned, and you should consider either the blood test or a single booster dose of MMR. Health care workers should consider the full two-dose course of treatment if they are not immune by a blood test.

Can pregnant women be vaccinated?

Experts consider MMR a live vaccine. This means it represents a diluted dose of a live vaccine. Because of that, doctors do not advise a dosage during pregnancy. Reports exist of women who received the vaccine by accident in pregnancy in which there have not been noted reports of bad outcomes for the mother or baby.

However, if you have plans of becoming pregnant, undergo a measles immunity blood test prior to conception. If not immune, you can get the MMR vaccine. Furthermore, plan to wait at least four weeks after the vaccination before trying to conceive. During pregnancy, if you receive a test with no immunity, get vaccinated after delivery. You can still breastfeed after the vaccine.

Contracting measles while pregnant

If a pregnant woman contracts measles or suspected to not have immunity, she should consult her provider for specialized medical treatment. Measles immunoglobulin can be given via IV within six days of exposure to decrease the risk of infection. If you have additional questions on the MMR vaccine, be sure to ask your Women’s Care Florida provider.

Leave a Reply