تفشي مرض الحصبة: كيف تحمي نفسك من حالات الحصبة

بقلم: طاقم رعاية المرأة في فلوريدا

تسبب الحصبة فيروس شديد العدوى ينتقل عبر جزيئات الجهاز التنفسي عن طريق السعال والعطس. يمكن للقطرات المتبقية بعد السعال أو العطس أن تصيب شخصًا ما لمدة تصل إلى ساعتين بعد مغادرة الشخص المصاب للغرفة. تبدأ الأعراض عمومًا من سبعة إلى 14 يومًا بعد التعرض. في الآونة الأخيرة ، تفشى مرض الحصبة في الولايات المتحدة بسبب إصابة الأشخاص غير المطعمين به. تعلم كيف تحمي نفسك من حالات الحصبة.

لماذا نتحدث عن الحصبة الآن؟

نظرت الولايات المتحدة في القضاء على حالات الحصبة منذ عام 2000 ، ومع ذلك ما زلنا نشهد تفشي مرض الحصبة كل عام. ومع ذلك ، لم تحدث أي إصابات داخل الولايات المتحدة. تقريبًا ، حدثت جميع الحالات المبلغ عنها في الولايات المتحدة خلال العشرين عامًا الماضية لزوار أجانب أو أمريكيين أصيبوا بالمرض أثناء زيارتهم لدولة أجنبية. كانت جميع حالات الحصبة تقريبًا من أفراد غير محصنين.

اعتبارًا من أوائل مايو 2019 ، تم تحديد أكثر من 800 حالة إصابة بالحصبة في الولايات المتحدة عبر 23 ولاية ، وهو أعلى عدد من الحالات في عام واحد منذ عام 1994. وتتمتع بعض مناطق تفشي الحصبة الأكثر تضررًا بسياحة دولية كبيرة ، بما في ذلك في الشمال الشرقي وعلى طول الساحل الغربي. يوجد في فلوريدا أربع مقاطعات عالية الخطورة: بروارد وميامي ديد وأورانج وهيلزبورو.

ما هي أعراض الحصبة؟

تشتهر الحصبة بطفح جلدي ذي بقع حمراء يبدأ من الرأس. وهي تشق طريقها إلى أسفل عبر الجذع ثم إلى الذراعين والساقين. يمكن للأفراد المصابين أن ينشروا الحصبة قبل أربعة أيام من ظهور الطفح الجلدي وحتى أربعة أيام بعد ظهور الطفح الجلدي. تشمل الأعراض الأخرى ارتفاع درجة الحرارة والسعال وسيلان الأنف واحمرار العيون الدامعة. يمكن أن تتطور هذه الأعراض وتؤدي إلى التهاب رئوي (حالة واحدة من كل 20 حالة) ، أو عدوى دماغية تسمى التهاب الدماغ (حالة واحدة من كل 1,000 حالة) ، أو الصمم (نادر). الأشخاص الذين يعانون من ضعف في جهاز المناعة لديهم مخاطر أعلى بكثير للإصابة بالمضاعفات. وتشمل هؤلاء الذين يخضعون لغسيل الكلى أو العلاج الكيميائي لأن جهاز المناعة الضعيف لديهم لا يستطيع محاربة العدوى بشكل جيد.

يمكن أن يكون للعدوى آثار مدمرة على الأطفال والنساء الحوامل. يمكن أن تؤدي الحصبة إلى وفاة حوالي 1 إلى 2 من كل 1,000 طفل مصاب بالعدوى. يمكن أن تتعرض المرأة الحامل للإجهاض أو الولادة المبكرة أو الولادة المبكرة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكنهم ولادة أطفال منخفضي الوزن عند الولادة بشكل خاص.

بشكل عام ، يمكن أن يمرض ما يصل إلى واحد من كل أربعة أشخاص مصابين بالحصبة بدرجة كافية تتطلب دخول المستشفى. من المرجح أن تحتاج النساء الحوامل المصابات بالحصبة إلى الاستشفاء أكثر من القطاعات الأخرى من السكان.

كيف تحمي نفسك من الحصبة

يمكننا منع الإصابة بالحصبة مع لقاح MMR. يمكن لهذا اللقاح أيضًا محاربة النكاف والحصبة الألمانية قبل التعرض. أيضا، لقاح يسمى MMRV يضيف حماية ضد الحماق أو جدري الماء. بسبب قابلية الانقباض العالية للحصبة ، يمكن لأي شخص مكشوف وغير محصن الاتصال بالمرض بسهولة.

علاوة على ذلك ، لا يوجد مضاد حيوي يساعد الحصبة مما يجعل اللقاح مهمًا بشكل خاص. يشمل العلاج الرعاية الداعمة ، مثل الراحة وتناول السوائل للأفراد المصابين الذين يمكنهم التدبير العلاجي في المنزل. قد يحتاج بعض الأشخاص الذين يصابون بمرض شديد إلى سوائل وريدية وحتى أجهزة التنفس الصناعي.

متى يجب التطعيم؟

يجب تحصين الأطفال مرتين ابتداءً من الجرعة الأولى في سن 12 إلى 15 شهرًا والجرعة الثانية في سن 4 إلى 6 سنوات. إذا كنت تخطط للسفر إلى الخارج مع طفل يقل عمره عن عام واحد ، فإن مركز السيطرة على الأمراض (CDC) يوصي بجرعة واحدة من MMR للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين ستة أشهر و 11 شهرًا. الأطفال الذين تقل أعمارهم عن ستة أشهر لا يتم تطعيمهم بشكل عام وقد يستفيدون من الأجسام المضادة لأمهاتهم التي انتشرت في نظامها أثناء حملها بالطفل ، طالما تم تلقيح الأم قبل الحمل. يجب توخي الحذر الشديد عند السفر مع رضيع غير محصن إلى المناطق التي تم الإبلاغ عن حالات الحصبة فيها. توفر جرعتان من اللقاح معدل حماية بنسبة 97 بالمائة ضد تفشي مرض الحصبة.

ماذا أفعل إذا لم أكن متأكدة من أنني تلقيت التطعيم؟

إذا كنت قد ولدت قبل عام 1957 ، فلست بحاجة إلى التطعيم. كانت الحصبة منتشرة جدًا في تلك الفترة الزمنية لدرجة أنه من المحتمل جدًا أن تكون محصنًا. أصبح لقاح الحصبة متاحًا لأول مرة في عام 1963. إذا كنت قد ولدت بعد عام 1957 ولم تكن متأكدًا مما إذا كنت قد تلقيت التطعيم ، فيمكن لفحص دم بسيط أن يخبرك إذا كان لديك مناعة. إذا لم تكن محصنًا وكنت في سن الكلية ، يوصى بدورة التطعيم ذات الجرعتين. يجب فصل الجرعتين بشهر واحد على الأقل. إذا كان عمرك بين 20 وأوائل 60 عامًا ، فقد تكون مناعتك قد تضاءلت ، ويجب أن تفكر في فحص الدم أو جرعة واحدة معززة من MMR. يجب على العاملين في مجال الرعاية الصحية النظر في دورة العلاج الكاملة المكونة من جرعتين إذا لم يكونوا محصنين بفحص الدم.

هل يمكن تطعيم الحامل؟

يعتبر الخبراء MMR لقاحًا حيًا. هذا يعني أنه يمثل جرعة مخففة من لقاح حي. لهذا السبب ، لا ينصح الأطباء بجرعة أثناء الحمل. توجد تقارير عن نساء تلقين اللقاح عن طريق الصدفة أثناء الحمل ولم يتم تسجيل تقارير عن نتائج سيئة للأم أو الطفل.

ومع ذلك ، إذا كانت لديك خطط للحمل ، فعليك الخضوع لفحص الدم لمناعة الحصبة قبل الحمل. إذا لم تكن محصنًا ، يمكنك الحصول على لقاح MMR. علاوة على ذلك ، خطط للانتظار أربعة أسابيع على الأقل بعد التطعيم قبل محاولة الإنجاب. خلال فترة الحمل ، إذا خضعتِ لاختبار بدون مناعة ، فاحصلي على لقاح بعد الولادة. لا يزال بإمكانك إرضاع طفلك بعد التطعيم.

الإصابة بالحصبة أثناء الحمل

إذا أصيبت المرأة الحامل بالحصبة أو اشتبه في عدم وجود مناعة لها ، فعليها استشارة مقدمها للحصول على علاج طبي متخصص. يمكن إعطاء الغلوبولين المناعي للحصبة عن طريق الوريد في غضون ستة أيام من التعرض لتقليل خطر الإصابة. اذا كنت تمتلك أسئلة إضافية حول لقاح MMR ، تأكد من اسألي مزود رعاية المرأة في فلوريدا.

اترك تعليق

[معاق]
[معاق]

Measles Outbreak: How to Protect Yourself from Measles Cases

By: Women's Care Florida Staff

Measles is caused by a highly contagious virus transmitted through respiratory particles via coughing and sneezing. The droplets left behind after a cough or sneeze can infect someone up to two hours after the infected person leaves the room. Symptoms generally begin seven to 14 days after exposure. Recently, a measles outbreak occurred in the United States due to unvaccinated people contracting it. Learn how to protect yourself from measles cases.

Why are we talking about measles now?

The U.S. considered measles cases eliminated since 2000, yet we continue to see a measles outbreak each year. However, no infections occurred within the U.S. Virtually all cases reported in the U.S. in the last 20 years occurred in foreign visitors or Americans who contracted the illness while visiting a foreign country. Nearly all measles cases have been from unvaccinated individuals.

As of early May 2019, more than 800 cases of measles have been identified in the U.S. across 23 states, the highest number of cases in a single year since 1994. Some of the hardest-hit measles outbreak areas have significant international tourism, including in the Northeast and along the West Coast. Florida has four high-risk counties: Broward, Miami-Dade, Orange, and Hillsborough.

What are the symptoms of measles?

Measles is best known for a red-spotted rash that starts at the head. It works its way down across the torso and then to the arms and legs. Infected individuals can spread measles four days before the rash appears and up to four days after the rash appears. Other symptoms include high fever, cough, runny nose, and red, watery eyes. These symptoms can progress and lead to pneumonia (one in 20 cases), a brain infection called encephalitis (one in 1,000 cases), or deafness (rare). People with a compromised immune system have a much higher risk of complications. These include those on dialysis or on chemotherapy as their weak immune system can’t fight off the infection well.

The infection can have devastating effects on children and pregnant women. Measles can lead to death in about 1 to 2 in 1,000 children with the infection. Pregnant women can have a miscarriage, stillborn, or preterm birth. In addition, they can deliver particularly low birth weight infants.

Overall, up to one in four people with measles can become sick enough to require hospitalization. Pregnant women with measles are more likely to need hospitalization than other sectors of the population.

How to protect yourself from measles

We can prevent contracting measles with the MMR vaccine. This vaccine can also fight mumps and rubella before exposure. Also, a vaccine called MMRV adds protection against Varicella or chickenpox. Due to measles’ high contractility, an exposed, unvaccinated person can easily contact the disease.

Furthermore, no antibiotic exists to help measles making the vaccine especially important. Treatment includes supportive care, such as rest and fluids for infected individuals who can manage at home. Some people who become extremely sick may require IV fluids and even ventilators.

When should I vaccinate?

Children should be vaccinated twice beginning with the first dose at age 12 to 15 months and the second dose at age 4 to 6 years. If you plan to travel abroad with a baby less than one-year-old, the CDC recommends a single MMR dose for infants ages six through 11 months. Children less than six months old are generally not vaccinated and may get the benefit of their mother’s antibodies that circulated in her system while she was pregnant with the baby, as long as the mother was vaccinated prior to pregnancy. Exercise considerable caution when traveling with an unvaccinated infant to areas where measles cases have been reported. Two doses of vaccine provide a 97 percent protection rate against a measles outbreak.

What can I do if I’m not sure I’m vaccinated?

If you were born before 1957, you do not need to be vaccinated. Measles was so prevalent at that time period that it is extremely likely you are immune. The measles vaccine first became available in 1963. If you were born after 1957 and you are not sure if you have been vaccinated, a simple blood test can tell you if you have immunity. If you are not immune and are college-age, the two-dose course of vaccinations is recommended. The two doses should be separated by at least one month. If you are between 20 and early 60s, your immunity may have waned, and you should consider either the blood test or a single booster dose of MMR. Health care workers should consider the full two-dose course of treatment if they are not immune by a blood test.

Can pregnant women be vaccinated?

Experts consider MMR a live vaccine. This means it represents a diluted dose of a live vaccine. Because of that, doctors do not advise a dosage during pregnancy. Reports exist of women who received the vaccine by accident in pregnancy in which there have not been noted reports of bad outcomes for the mother or baby.

However, if you have plans of becoming pregnant, undergo a measles immunity blood test prior to conception. If not immune, you can get the MMR vaccine. Furthermore, plan to wait at least four weeks after the vaccination before trying to conceive. During pregnancy, if you receive a test with no immunity, get vaccinated after delivery. You can still breastfeed after the vaccine.

Contracting measles while pregnant

If a pregnant woman contracts measles or suspected to not have immunity, she should consult her provider for specialized medical treatment. Measles immunoglobulin can be given via IV within six days of exposure to decrease the risk of infection. If you have additional questions on the MMR vaccine, be sure to ask your Women’s Care Florida provider.

Leave a Reply