女性心脏健康

由: 马里兰州布鲁克市Ritter –佛罗里达女性护理

 

妇女接受年度检查gtom obgyn vs初级保健服务

心脏病是女性死亡的主要原因,但是只有13%的女性说心脏病是其最大的个人健康风险。 如果不是心脏病,那又如何? 数据表明,尽管心脏病每年杀死的妇女人数是女性的六倍,但在日常工作中,妇女仍更担心罹患乳腺癌。 幸运的是,心脏病是最可预防的死亡原因之一!

风险因素

男女心脏病相似,但不完全相同。 女性的危险因素包括糖尿病,精神压力和抑郁,吸烟,缺乏运动,饮酒过量,饮食不良,更年期,妊娠并发症,早期心脏病的家族病史以及炎性疾病,如狼疮和类风湿性关节炎。

心脏病是美国黑人和白人女性的主要死亡原因,在每1名女性死亡中占5名。 对于西班牙裔和亚裔妇女来说,心脏病是仅次于癌症的第二大死亡原因。 1岁及16岁以上的女性中约有20位患有冠心病。

与亲戚有血缘关系的亲戚会增加患病的风险。 重要的是要知道有关您的心脏病家庭健康史的信息,包括诊断出哪些亲戚。 一种遗传性疾病,称为家族性高胆固醇血症,其中人的低密度脂蛋白胆固醇水平升高,使人们更容易在年轻时患心脏病,并增加了死于该疾病的风险。 对于有强烈家族史的心脏病患者,与医生进行早期测试非常重要,因为通常仅靠饮食和运动不足以控制胆固醇水平,因此必须使用他汀类药物治疗。

预防

心脏病是可以预防的! 这是您应该采取的一些措施。

·了解您的血压,因为无法控制的高血压会导致心脏病。

·对糖尿病进行测试,如果有,请控制糖尿病。

·戒烟。

·与医生一起检查您的血液胆固醇和甘油三酸酯。

·每天限制饮酒量为一杯。

·通过找到健康的方法来应对压力水平,从而管理压力。

·更加积极; 每天至少锻炼30分钟。

·健康饮食。

·保持健康的体重,BMI 18.5-24.9,腰围<35英寸。

体征和症状

对于女性来说,了解和识别心脏病的指标非常重要,因为它们有时与典型的胸痛不同。 有些女人根本没有任何症状。 如果您患有心绞痛(沉闷/沉重/锋利的胸痛或不适),请立即与您的医生联系; 颈部,下颌或喉咙疼痛; 或上腹部或背部疼痛。 其他症状可能是恶心,呕吐或疲劳。 有时,心脏病是无声的,直到有人心脏病发作(胸痛/头晕/呼吸急促),心律不齐(振颤/心pal)或心力衰竭(呼吸急促/疲劳/四肢肿胀)后才被诊断出来。

与您的妇产科医生交谈

如果您像很多女人一样,妇产科医生是您每年唯一见过的医生。 年度访问时应讨论心脏健康,并且那时您可以随时讨论任何顾虑/问题。 您的妇产科医生可以通过健康的生活方式选择为您提供咨询和教育,以帮助您减少心脏病的风险。 高血压,糖尿病,高胆固醇和肥胖症应作为日常讨论的重点。 某些增加心脏病和中风风险的女性状况包括先兆子痫,妊娠糖尿病和高血压,您的妇产科医生可以很好地帮助解决这些问题。

现在是时候控制您的心脏健康了

心脏病不仅发生在老年人身上; 它可以发生在任何年龄。 现在就开始考虑自己的心脏健康永远不会太早,尤其是因为导致心脏病的疾病现在正发生在年轻的年龄。 高

35-64岁年龄段的人的肥胖和高血压患病率使他们在生命的早期就有患心脏病的风险。 平均而言,美国成年人的心脏比实际年龄大7岁! 女性应在45岁之前接受常规胆固醇检查; 但是,为了安全起见,尤其是在存在任何危险因素或家族病史的情况下,应从20岁开始每年进行胆固醇测试。

对于女性而言,更年期会增加患心脏病的风险,而妇产科医生是荷尔蒙方面的专家。 不要犹豫,讨论更年期问题,因为它不仅会导致潮热和盗汗。 同样,妊娠并发症的病史将来可能使您患上心脏病,尽管这些疾病并非全部可以预防,但专注于养成心脏健康的习惯并减少可控制的危险因素绝对可以改善心脏健康。

安排与佛罗里达州女性护理服务提供商的约会 讨论您的心脏健康。

[已停用]
[已停用]

Heart Health in Women

By: Ritter, Brooke, DO – Women’s Care

 

woman receiving annual exam gtom obgyn vs primary care services

Heart disease is the leading cause of death in women, however only 13% of women say it is their greatest personal health risk. If not heart disease, then what? Data suggests that on a day-to-day basis, women worry more about getting breast cancer, even though heart disease kills six times as many women every year. Fortunately, heart disease is one of the most preventable causes of death!

Risk factors

Heart disease in men and women is similar, but not identical. Risk factors for women include diabetes, mental stress and depression, smoking, inactivity, drinking excessive alcohol, poor diet, menopause, pregnancy complications, family history of early heart disease, and inflammatory diseases such as lupus and rheumatoid arthritis.

Heart disease is the leading cause of death for African American and white women in the U.S., accounting for 1 in every 5 female deaths. For Hispanic and Asian women, heart disease is second only to cancer as cause of death. About 1 in 16 women aged 20 and older have coronary heart disease.

Having close blood relatives with heart disease can increase your risk. Information about your family health history of heart disease, including what age relatives were diagnosed, is important to know. A genetic disorder called familial hypercholesterolemia, in which people have elevated levels of LDL cholesterol, makes a person more likely to develop heart disease at a younger age and increases the risk of dying from the disease. It is extremely important for those with a strong family history of heart disease to undergo early testing with their doctor, as oftentimes diet and exercise alone are not enough to control cholesterol levels, and treatment with medications such as statins is necessary.

Prevention

Heart disease is preventable! Here are some measures you should take.

· Know your blood pressure, as uncontrolled elevated blood pressure can lead to heart disease.

· Get tested for diabetes, and if you have it, keep it controlled.

· Quit smoking.

· Check your blood cholesterol and trigylcerides with your doctor.

· Limit your alcohol intake to one drink per day.

· Manage your stress by finding healthy ways to cope with stress levels.

· Be more active; get at least 30 minutes per day of moderate intensity exercise.

· Eat healthfully.

· Maintain a healthy body weight with BMI 18.5-24.9 and a waist abdominal circumference <35 inches.

Signs and symptoms

It is extremely important for women to understand and recognize the indicators of heart disease, as they are sometimes different than typical chest pain. Some women will have no symptoms at all. Contact your doctor immediately if you experience angina (dull/heavy/sharp chest pain or discomfort); pain in the neck, jaw, or throat; or pain in the upper abdomen or back. Other symptoms may be nausea, vomiting or fatigue. Sometimes heart disease is silent and not diagnosed until someone has a heart attack (chest pain/dizziness/shortness of breath), arrhythmia (fluttering/palpitations), or heart failure (shortness of breath/fatigue/swelling in the extremities).

Talk to your ob-gyn

If you’re like many women, your ob-gyn is the only doctor you see every year. Heart health should be discussed at your annual visit, and you should feel free to discuss any concerns/questions at that time. Your ob-gyn can counsel and educate you on what you can do to reduce your risk of heart disease with healthy lifestyle choices. High blood pressure, diabetes, high cholesterol and obesity should be routine points of discussion. Certain female conditions that increase risk of heart disease and stroke include preeclampsia, gestational diabetes and hypertension, and your ob-gyn is well positioned to help with these matters.

Now is the time to take control of your heart health

Heart disease doesn’t just happen to older adults; it can happen at any age. It is never too early to begin thinking about your own heart health, especially because conditions leading to heart disease are now happening at younger ages. High

rates of obesity and high blood pressure among people ages 35-64 are putting them at risk for heart disease earlier in life. On average, U.S. adults have hearts that are 7 years older than they should be! Women should get routine cholesterol screening by age 45; however, to be on the safe side, especially if any risk factors or family history is present, cholesterol should be tested yearly starting at age 20.

For women, menopause can play a part in heart disease risk, and your ob-gyn is the expert on all things hormonal. Never hesitate to discuss menopause concerns, as it can lead to much more than just hot flashes and night sweats. Similarly, a history of pregnancy complications can predispose you to heart disease in the future, and although these are not all preventable, focus on adopting heart healthy habits and reducing controllable risk factors can most definitely improve heart health.

Schedule an appointment with your Women’s Care provider to discuss your heart health.

[disabled]
[disabled]