更年期泌尿生殖系统综合症(GSM)和严重症状

创建人:佛罗里达妇女保健人员

您的女性区域有时会感到干燥,发炎甚至发痒。 您需要更频繁地排尿,走时也会燃烧。 性不再具有愉悦感。 如果您遇到这些症状中的一种或多种,​​则可能是更年期的泌尿生殖系统综合症或GSM。

更年期的定义和症状

更年期的定义 12个月或更长时间,由于雌激素水平下降而没有一段时间。 普通女性在51岁时达到更年期。 此外,每个女人都有更年期的独特经历。 有些人可能会以最小的问题解决变更,而另一些人可能会遇到中度甚至严重的更年期症状。

大多数妇女通过教育,朋友和家人熟悉更年期。 许多人知道的常见症状包括潮热和盗汗。 另外,大约75%的女性会潮热。 虽然它们通常可持续数年,但对于某些妇女来说,它们可能会持续到七十岁。 夜间盗汗可能会中断睡眠,从而导致情绪变化,烦躁不安和注意力不集中。 幸运的是,无论是否接受治疗,这些症状中的许多症状都会随着时间的推移而改善。

什么是更年期泌尿生殖系统综合症(GSM)?

未经治疗的更年期泌尿生殖系统综合症会导致更年期严重症状。 随着时间的流逝,它还会趋于恶化。 雌激素水平降低会导致阴道萎缩。 这包括干燥,发痒,不适和性交疼痛。 GSM将烦恼的阴道萎缩与泌尿系统症状(例如尿频,尿急和排尿不适)结合在一起。 另外,发生尿路感染的风险增加。 GSM可能影响绝经后妇女的50%至70%。

常见的阴道变化

妇女可能会注意到更年期泌尿生殖系统综合症的某些变化:

  • 组织变薄,干燥,弹性降低,分泌物和润滑减少。
  • 易碎的组织可能会撕裂或流血,导致性交或骨盆检查时疼痛。
  • 随着阴道健康酸性pH值的升高,阴道感染可能会增加。
  • 性疼痛可导致性交频率降低,从而导致阴道变短和变窄。 这会导致更多的不适感。
  • 由于疼痛而导致的性交减少会触发阴道和骨盆肌肉的非自愿性拉紧(阴道痉挛)。 结果,性爱甚至不再可能。

这些症状可能会严重影响女性的性满足感,亲密关系以及整体生活质量。 由于这种情况的敏感性,可能很难与您的提供者讨论。 但是,不要害羞。 存在许多有效的治疗选择。

GSM的非激素治疗

  • 阴道润滑剂 减少性交并减少阴道干涩时的不适感。 我们建议使用水溶性或有机硅基产品。 另外,您可以在柜台或在线上找到它们。
  • 阴道保湿剂 排列阴道壁并帮助保持水分。 妇女可以定期使用它们,例如每周睡前几次。 此外,您可以在柜台上找到它们。
  • 定期性刺激 增加阴道血流量和分泌物。
  • 扩展您对性快感的看法 超越传统的交流方式。
  • 骨盆底练习 可以帮助增强弱小的肌肉或放松紧绷的肌肉。
  • 阴道扩张器 恢复阴道容量。 它们扩大阴道的宽度和深度,为组织提供弹性。 这允许舒适的性活动。
  • 二氧化碳激光治疗 可能会增加血液流量并促进胶原蛋白的生长。 但是,这种适应症未经FDA批准。 此外,仍然存在安全性和功效问题。

GSM激素治疗的类型

  • 小剂量阴道雌激素 直接应用于阴道可以恢复阴道健康。 同样,这可以在几周内改善GSM。 需要以下形式之一的处方:
    • 奶油
      • 每周2-3次
      • Estrace or 普力马
    • 插页
      • 一周两次
      • 依维克斯
      • Vagifem / Yuvafem
    • 阴道环
      • 每三个月更换一次
      • 细绳 阴道环
  • 脱氢表雄酮(DHEA) 是由肾上腺产生的类固醇激素,可作为雌激素和睾丸激素的前体。 口内 是经FDA批准的处方合成DHEA阴道插入剂,每晚用于治疗阴道萎缩症状。 使用低剂量的阴道脱氢表雄酮似乎不会增加血液中的雌激素水平。
  • 欧斯米芬 是每天服用的口服片剂,用于治疗因阴道萎缩引起的疼痛性交。 它是雌激素激动剂/拮抗剂。 这意味着它在某些组织(例如阴道)中像雌激素一样起作用,而在其他组织中则与雌激素相反。 不像雌激素 欧斯芬那 可能会引起潮热或盗汗。 但是,类似于全身性雌激素,它可能刺激子宫内膜,增加患子宫癌,血栓和中风的风险。

如果您体验了GSM,获得最佳护理就意味着与您的提供商公开讨论。 您的 佛罗里达女性护理提供者 可以解释您的治疗方案并找到适合您的方案。

发表评论

Genitourinary Syndrome of Menopause (GSM) and Severe Symptoms

By: Women's Care Florida Staff

Your feminine area feels dry, irritated, and even itchy sometimes. You need to urinate more often, and it can also burn when you go. Sex does not feel as pleasurable anymore. If you experience one or more of these symptoms, it could be genitourinary syndrome of menopause or GSM.

Menopause definition and symptoms

Menopause is defined as 12 or more months without a period due to dropping levels of estrogen. The average woman reaches menopause at 51 years old. Furthermore, every woman has a unique experience with menopause. Some may sail through the change with minimal issues, while others may experience moderate or even severe menopause symptoms.

Most women familiarize themselves with menopause through education, friends, and family. Common symptoms many know include hot flashes and night sweats. Also, about 75 percent of women experience hot flashes. While they typically last a few years, for some women, they may persist into their seventies. Night sweats may interrupt sleep, which can lead to mood changes, irritability, and trouble concentrating. Fortunately, many of these symptoms will improve with time, with or without treatment.

What is genitourinary syndrome of menopause (GSM)?

Untreated genitourinary syndrome of menopause leads to severe menopause symptoms. It also tends to worsen with time. Decreased levels of estrogen contribute to vaginal atrophy. This includes dryness, itching, discomfort, and pain with sex. GSM combines bothersome vaginal atrophy with urinary symptoms, such as frequency, urgency, and discomfort with urination. In addition, the risk of developing urinary tract infections increases. GSM may affect 50 to 70 percent of postmenopausal women.

Common Vaginal Changes

Women may notice some of these changes with genitourinary syndrome of menopause:

  • Tissues become thin, dry, and less elastic with decreased secretions and lubrication.
  • Fragile tissues may tear or bleed, leading to pain with sex or pelvic exams.
  • Vaginal infections may increase, as healthy acidic pH of the vagina becomes more alkaline.
  • Pain with sex can lead to less frequent intercourse, which can cause the vagina to become shorter and narrower. This can lead to more discomfort.
  • Decreased intercourse due to pain can trigger the involuntary tightening of vaginal and pelvic muscles (vaginismus). As a result, sex may no longer even be possible.

These symptoms may significantly affect a woman’s sexual satisfaction, her intimate relationships, and her overall quality of life.  Because of the sensitive nature of this condition, it may feel difficult to discuss with your provider. However, don’t be shy. Many effective treatment options exist.

Nonhormonal Treatments for GSM

  • Vaginal lubricants decrease friction and reduce discomfort during sex with vaginal dryness. We recommend water-soluble or silicone-based products. Also, you can find them over the counter or online.
  • Vaginal moisturizers line the vaginal wall and help maintain moisture. Women can use them regularly, such as several times weekly at bedtime. Furthermore, you can find them over the counter.
  • Regular sexual stimulation increases vaginal blood flow and secretions.
  • Expand your views of sexual pleasure beyond traditional intercourse.
  • Pelvic floor exercises can help strengthen weak muscles or relax tight ones.
  • Vaginal dilators restore vaginal capacity. They expand the vagina in width and depth to provide elasticity to the tissues. This allows for comfortable sexual activity.
  • CO2 laser treatment may increase blood flow and promote collagen growth. However, they are not FDA-approved for this indication. Plus, safety and efficacy concerns remain.

Types of Hormonal Treatments for GSM

  • Low-dose vaginal estrogen applied directly to the vagina can restore vaginal health. Also, this improves GSM within a few weeks. A prescription is required in one of these forms:
    • Cream
      • 2-3 times per week
      • Estrace or Premarin
    • Insert
      • Twice a week
      • Imvexxy
      • Vagifem/Yuvafem
    • Vaginal ring
      • Changed every three months
      • Estring vaginal ring
  • Dehydroepiandrosterone (DHEA) is a steroid hormone produced by the adrenal gland that acts as a precursor to both estrogen and testosterone. Intrarosa is a prescription FDA-approved synthetic DHEA vaginal insert, used nightly, for vaginal atrophy symptoms. Blood levels of estrogen do not appear to increase with the use of low-dose vaginal DHEA.
  • Ospemifene is an oral tablet taken daily to treat painful intercourse due to vaginal atrophy. It is an estrogen agonist/antagonist. This means it works like estrogen in some tissues, like the vagina, and opposes estrogen in other tissues.  Unlike estrogen, Osphena may cause hot flashes or night sweats. However, similar to systemic estrogen, it may stimulate the lining of the uterus, increasing the risk for uterine cancer, blood clots, and stroke.

If you experience GSM, getting the best possible care means talking openly with your provider about it. Your Women’s Care Florida provider can explain your treatment options and find one that works for you.

Leave a Reply