什么是糖尿病前期?

·糖尿病前期患者描述有患糖尿病风险的人。 像糖尿病患者一样,他们通常没有症状。 如果这样做,最常见的是排尿次数增加,口渴和视力模糊。 这些症状的出现是由于血液中糖水平较高。 从根本上讲,糖尿病的问题在于机体要么不能产生足够的信号传递激素(称为胰岛素)来加工糖(1型),要么机体对所产生的胰岛素没有反应(2型)。

·超过90%的糖尿病患者被归为2型糖尿病,大约30%的美国人被认为患有糖尿病前期疾病。 糖尿病前期可以通过实验室测试来检测。 在前驱糖尿病中,血糖浓度高于正常水平(空腹血糖> 100,HbA1c> 5.7),但未达到糖尿病的临界值(空腹血糖> 126; HbA1c> 6.5)。

如果我患有糖尿病,我会自动患上2型糖尿病吗?

·否。患有糖尿病的人确实有增加患上糖尿病的风险。 实际上,大约有四分之一的前驱糖尿病人将在五年内患上糖尿病。 但是,通过改变生活方式可以预防这种进展。

我可以做出哪些改变来预防2型糖尿病?

·导致糖尿病的主要危险因素是超重和不活跃。 为了预防糖尿病,第一步是调整饮食和运动。

·节食的目标是减少含糖量高的食物,尤其是苏打水等含糖饮料,同时增加水果和蔬菜的摄入量。 此外,并非所有碳水化合物都相同。 自80年代以来,我们就知道吃土豆会比吃相同数量的全谷物更快地提高糖分峰值。 具有复杂碳水化合物的食物和具有较高纤维含量的食物释放的糖分逐渐上升,而出现一个尖峰。 相比之下,加工食品趋于,含糖饮料趋向于具有更简单的糖,从而更快地提高葡萄糖水平。

·要锻炼身体,请尝试每天锻炼30分钟。 去健身房很棒,但是即使是步行之类的活动也是有益的。 体重减轻目标为体重的5-10%可以显着降低患糖尿病的风险。

·如果您是吸烟者,则戒烟还有助于降低风险,从长远来看对您的心血管健康有益。

·如果这些第一步无效,则下一个方法是开始药物治疗。 二甲双胍是糖尿病患者中常用的药物,并已显示出可减少从糖尿病前期到糖尿病的进展。

如果我患有前驱糖尿病,会受到怀孕能力的影响吗?

·是的。 尽管我们知道糖尿病女性可以怀孕,但完全的答案是,患有糖尿病的人通常会患有多种相关疾病,这会使怀孕更加困难。 他们往往有更多的不规律的时期,通常是由于体重过多。 多囊卵巢综合征(PCOS)是

常在患有前驱糖尿病的女性中发现,也可能导致生育率降低。

·更重要的是,我们知道糖尿病控制不佳的妇女流产率几乎翻了一番。 他们也比胎儿先天畸形高四倍。 这些包括心脏缺陷和神经系统异常,例如脊柱裂。 能够获得良好血糖控制的糖尿病女性没有这种风险。

·在妊娠后期,由于控制不佳的糖尿病引起的母亲并发症主要是心血管疾病。 这些包括先兆子痫和肾脏损害。 从胎儿的角度来看,由于血液中有更多的糖分,因此婴儿倾向于增加体重。 体重过重会增加出生受伤的风险,最常见的是肩部和神经受伤。

·出生后,患有糖尿病的妈妈所生的婴儿体内糖水平可能会有波动。 这是因为婴儿更早以前处于含糖量较高的环境中,而该环境的去除会导致他们发育低糖。

怀孕期间我该如何处理糖尿病前期?

·最好的方法是在您怀孕之前控制糖尿病。 如果您打算怀孕,与您的医师见面进行孕前检查有助于您回顾病史并进行风险评估。 每个打算怀孕的患者都应进行糖尿病,甲状腺功能检查,并彻底检查其药物清单。

·在怀孕期间,第一步是饮食。 目标应该是避免大餐进食会迅速增加血糖的食物。 这意味着要选择复杂的碳水化合物,例如全谷物,而不是高度精制的食物。 我建议三顿正常的饭菜,并穿插其他零食。 我还建议由经认证的糖尿病教育者提供饮食咨询。 妈妈们应该在空腹以及饭后检查自己的糖分,以评估饮食管理的功效。

·如果仅饮食改变不足,那么下一步将是药物治疗。 这些可以药片或胰岛素注射的形式出现。

糖尿病前期与妊娠糖尿病之间有什么关系?

·这两个是紧密联系的。 妊娠糖尿病(GDM)通常是女性将来会患上糖尿病或糖尿病的第一个迹象。 最好的数据来自2018年一项国际多种族研究,该研究对妊娠糖尿病初诊断后约10年的妊娠糖尿病母亲进行了研究。 在有GDM病史的患者中,近1分之2被诊断出患有糖尿病前期或糖尿病。 相比之下,在没有GDM史的患者中,只有五分之一的人患有前驱糖尿病或糖尿病。

我还应该知道些什么?

·有关怀孕期间使用糖替代品的数据相当有限。 到目前为止,没有任何数据表明常用替代品(阿斯巴甜,三氯蔗糖,糖精等)会增加出生缺陷的风险。 但是,有一些研究表明,孕妇食用这些物质与儿童肥胖有关,因此应限制摄入量。

What is prediabetes?

· Prediabetes describes people who are at risk to develop diabetes. Like patients with diabetes, they often don’t have symptoms. If they do, the most common ones are increased frequency of urination, increased thirst, and blurry vision. These symptoms arise because of higher sugar levels in the blood stream. Fundamentally, the problem in diabetes is that the body either doesn’t produce enough of a signaling hormone called insulin to process sugar (type 1) or the body doesn’t respond to the insulin that is produced (type 2).

· More than 90% of diabetic patients are classified as type 2, and approximately 30% of Americans are can be considered to have prediabetes. Prediabetes can be detected through lab testing. In prediabetes, the blood sugar concentrations are higher than normal (fasting glucose >100, HbA1c >5.7), but do not meet the cut off for to be considered as diabetes (fasting glucose >126; HbA1c > 6.5).

If I have prediabetes, will I automatically get type 2 diabetes?

· No. People with prediabetes do have an increased risk to progress to diabetes. In fact, about one in four people with prediabetes will develop diabetes in five years. However, this progression is preventable through lifestyle modifications.

What changes can I make to prevent getting type 2 diabetes?

· The main risk factors that contribute to diabetes are being overweight and not being active. To prevent diabetes, the first steps would be to adjust diet and exercise.

· For dieting, the goal is to cut back on foods that are high in sugars, especially sugary drinks like sodas, while increasing intake of fruits and vegetables. Additionally, not all carbs are the same. We’ve known since the 80s that eating potatoes will raise the sugar peak much faster than eating the same amount of whole grains. Foods that have complex carbs and those with a higher fiber content release sugar more gradually rather a sharp peak. In contrast, processed foods tend and sugary drinks tend to have more simple sugars that raise the glucose level quicker.

· For exercising, try to be active for 30 minutes each day. Going to the gym is great, but even activities like walking are beneficial. A weight loss goal of 5-10% of body weight can significant decrease the risk of diabetes.

· If you are a smoker, quitting smoking is also helpful to reduce the risk and is beneficial for your cardiovascular health in the long run.

· If these first steps are not effective, the next approach would be to start medications. Metformin is a commonly utilized drug in patients with diabetes and has been shown to decrease the progression from prediabetes to diabetes.

If I have prediabetes, will it affect by ability to get pregnant?

· Yes. While we know that women with diabetes can get pregnant, the complete answer is that people with prediabetes usually have several associated conditions that can make getting pregnant more difficult. They tend to have more irregular periods, often because of the excess weight. Polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS) is

frequently found in women who have prediabetes and can also contribute to decreased fertility rates.

· More importantly, we know that women who have poorly controlled diabetes have almost double the miscarriage rate. They are also four times more like to have fetal congenital anomalies. These include cardiac defects and nervous system anomalies such as spinal bifida. Diabetic women who are able to get good glucose control do not have this risk.

· Later in the pregnancy, maternal complications from poorly controlled diabetes are mainly cardiovascular. These include preeclampsia and kidney damage. From the fetal perspective, because more sugar is in the blood stream, the baby tends to put on more weight. This excess weight increases the risk of birth injury, with shoulder and nerve injuries being the most common.

· After birth, babies born to diabetic moms can have fluctuations in their own sugar levels. This is because baby was more previously in a higher sugar environment, and the removal of that environment can lead them to develop low sugars.

What can I do to manage prediabetes during pregnancy?

· The best approach would be to control prediabetes before you even get pregnant. If you plan to get pregnant, it is helpful to meet with your physician for a preconception visit to review your medical history and perform a risk assessment. Every patient who intends to get pregnant should be screened for diabetes, thyroid function, and have their medication list thoroughly reviewed.

· During pregnancy, the first step is dietary. The goal should be to avoid single large meals with foods that quickly raise the blood sugar. This means choosing complex carbs such as whole grain over highly refined foods. I recommend three normal meals with additional snacks interspersed. I also recommend dietary counseling with a certified diabetes educator. Moms should be checking their sugars sugar fasting as well as after meals to gauge the efficacy of the dietary management.

· If dietary changes alone are insufficient, then the next step would be medications. These can come in the form of pills or insulin injections.

What is the relationship between prediabetes and gestational diabetes?

· These two are very closely connected. Gestational diabetes (GDM) is often the first sign that a woman will have prediabetes or diabetes down the road. The best data comes from a 2018 international, multiethnic study that looked at moms with gestational diabetes about 10 years after their initial diagnosis during pregnancy. In patient’s who had a GDM history, nearly 1 in 2 were diagnosed with prediabetes or diabetes. By contrast, in patients without a GDM history, only 1 in 5 developed prediabetes or diabetes.

What else should I know?

· The data is rather limited on the use of sugar substitutes in pregnancy. So far, there isn’t any data that suggest that the common substitutes (Aspartame, Sucralose, Saccharine, etc) increases the risk of birth defects. However, there are some studies that suggest that maternal consumption of these is linked with childhood obesity, so their intake should be limited.

[disabled]
[disabled]