ما هي مقدمات السكري؟

· مقدمات السكري تصف الأشخاص المعرضين لخطر الإصابة بمرض السكري. مثل مرضى السكري ، غالبًا لا تظهر عليهم أعراض. إذا حدث ذلك ، فإن أكثرها شيوعًا هي زيادة تواتر التبول ، وزيادة العطش ، وتشوش الرؤية. تظهر هذه الأعراض بسبب ارتفاع مستويات السكر في مجرى الدم. في الأساس ، تكمن المشكلة في مرض السكري في أن الجسم إما لا ينتج ما يكفي من هرمون إشارة يسمى الأنسولين لمعالجة السكر (النوع 1) أو أن الجسم لا يستجيب للأنسولين الذي يتم إنتاجه (النوع 2).

· يصنف أكثر من 90٪ من مرضى السكري على أنهم من النوع 2 ، ويمكن اعتبار ما يقرب من 30٪ من الأمريكيين مصابين بمقدمات السكري. يمكن الكشف عن مقدمات السكري من خلال الاختبارات المعملية. في مقدمات السكري ، تكون تركيزات السكر في الدم أعلى من المعدل الطبيعي (الجلوكوز الصائم> 100 ، HbA1c> 5.7) ، لكنها لا تفي بالحد المقطوع ليتم اعتباره مرض السكري (الجلوكوز الصائم> 126 ؛ HbA1c> 6.5)

إذا كنت مصابًا بمقدمات السكري ، فهل سأصاب تلقائيًا بالنوع 2 من داء السكري؟

· لا. الأشخاص المصابون بمقدمات السكري لديهم مخاطر متزايدة للتقدم إلى مرض السكري. في الواقع ، حوالي واحد من كل أربعة أشخاص مصابين بمقدمات السكري سيصابون بمرض السكري في غضون خمس سنوات. ومع ذلك ، يمكن منع هذا التقدم من خلال تعديلات نمط الحياة.

ما هي التغييرات التي يمكنني إجراؤها لمنع الإصابة بمرض السكري من النوع 2؟

· عوامل الخطر الرئيسية التي تساهم في الإصابة بمرض السكري هي زيادة الوزن وعدم ممارسة الرياضة. للوقاية من مرض السكري ، ستكون الخطوات الأولى هي تعديل النظام الغذائي وممارسة الرياضة.

· بالنسبة لاتباع نظام غذائي ، فإن الهدف هو تقليل الأطعمة التي تحتوي على نسبة عالية من السكريات ، وخاصة المشروبات السكرية مثل المشروبات الغازية ، مع زيادة تناول الفواكه والخضروات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ليست كل الكربوهيدرات متشابهة. لقد عرفنا منذ الثمانينيات أن تناول البطاطس سيرفع ذروة السكر بشكل أسرع بكثير من تناول نفس الكمية من الحبوب الكاملة. الأطعمة التي تحتوي على الكربوهيدرات المعقدة وتلك التي تحتوي على نسبة عالية من الألياف تطلق السكر بشكل تدريجي بدلاً من الذروة الحادة. في المقابل ، تميل الأطعمة المصنعة والمشروبات السكرية إلى احتواء السكريات البسيطة التي ترفع مستوى الجلوكوز بشكل أسرع.

- لممارسة الرياضة ، حاول أن تكون نشطًا لمدة 30 دقيقة يوميًا. يعد الذهاب إلى صالة الألعاب الرياضية أمرًا رائعًا ، ولكن حتى الأنشطة مثل المشي مفيدة. إن هدف خسارة الوزن بنسبة 5-10٪ من وزن الجسم يمكن أن يقلل بشكل كبير من خطر الإصابة بمرض السكري.

· إذا كنت مدخنًا ، فإن الإقلاع عن التدخين مفيد أيضًا في تقليل المخاطر ومفيد لصحة القلب والأوعية الدموية على المدى الطويل.

· إذا لم تكن هذه الخطوات الأولى فعالة ، فسيكون النهج التالي هو البدء في تناول الأدوية. الميتفورمين هو دواء شائع الاستخدام في مرضى السكري وقد ثبت أنه يقلل من التقدم من مقدمات السكري إلى مرض السكري.

إذا كنت أعاني من مقدمات السكري ، فهل يتأثر بالقدرة على الحمل؟

· نعم. بينما نعلم أن النساء المصابات بداء السكري يمكن أن يحملن ، فإن الإجابة الكاملة هي أن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مقدمات السكري عادة ما يكون لديهم العديد من الحالات المرتبطة التي يمكن أن تجعل الحمل أكثر صعوبة. تميل إلى أن تكون فتراتها غير منتظمة ، غالبًا بسبب الوزن الزائد. متلازمة تكيس المبايض (PCOS) هي

توجد بشكل متكرر في النساء المصابات بمقدمات السكري ويمكن أن تساهم أيضًا في انخفاض معدلات الخصوبة.

والأهم من ذلك ، نحن نعلم أن النساء المصابات بضعف السيطرة على مرض السكري لديهن تقريبًا ضعف معدل الإجهاض. كما أنهم أكثر شبهاً بأربع مرات بالتشوهات الخلقية للجنين. وتشمل عيوب القلب وتشوهات الجهاز العصبي مثل العمود الفقري المشقوق. النساء المصابات بداء السكري القادرات على التحكم الجيد في الجلوكوز ليس لديهن هذا الخطر.

- في وقت لاحق من الحمل ، تكون مضاعفات الأمهات الناتجة عن مرض السكري غير الخاضع للسيطرة الكافية هي أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية. وتشمل هذه تسمم الحمل وتلف الكلى. من وجهة نظر الجنين ، نظرًا لوجود المزيد من السكر في مجرى الدم ، يميل الطفل إلى زيادة الوزن. يزيد هذا الوزن الزائد من خطر الإصابة عند الولادة ، وتكون إصابات الكتف والأعصاب هي الأكثر شيوعًا.

بعد الولادة ، يمكن أن يحدث تقلبات في مستويات السكر لدى الأطفال المولودين لأمهات مصابات بالسكري. هذا لأن الطفل كان في السابق في بيئة عالية السكر ، ويمكن أن تؤدي إزالة تلك البيئة إلى تطوير سكريات منخفضة.

ما الذي يمكنني فعله للتحكم في مقدمات السكري أثناء الحمل؟

- أفضل طريقة هي التحكم في مقدمات السكري قبل الحمل. إذا كنت تخططين للحمل ، فمن المفيد مقابلة طبيبك في زيارة ما قبل الحمل لمراجعة تاريخك الطبي وإجراء تقييم للمخاطر. يجب فحص كل مريضة تنوي الحمل للتأكد من خلوها من مرض السكري ووظيفة الغدة الدرقية ومراجعة قائمة الأدوية الخاصة بها بدقة.

- أثناء الحمل ، الخطوة الأولى هي اتباع نظام غذائي. يجب أن يكون الهدف هو تجنب الوجبات الكبيرة المفردة مع الأطعمة التي ترفع نسبة السكر في الدم بسرعة. وهذا يعني اختيار الكربوهيدرات المعقدة مثل الحبوب الكاملة بدلاً من الأطعمة عالية التكرير. أوصي بثلاث وجبات عادية مع وجبات خفيفة إضافية تتخللها. أوصي أيضًا بتقديم المشورة الغذائية مع أحد معلمي مرض السكري المعتمدين. يجب أن تتحقق الأمهات من سكرياتهن أثناء صيام السكر وكذلك بعد الوجبات لقياس فعالية إدارة النظام الغذائي.

· إذا كانت التغييرات الغذائية وحدها غير كافية ، فإن الخطوة التالية ستكون الأدوية. يمكن أن تأتي على شكل أقراص أو حقن أنسولين.

ما هي العلاقة بين مقدمات السكري وسكري الحمل؟

هذان مرتبطان بشكل وثيق. غالبًا ما يكون سكري الحمل (GDM) هو أول علامة على إصابة المرأة بمقدمات السكري أو داء السكري في المستقبل. تأتي أفضل البيانات من دراسة دولية متعددة الأعراق أجريت عام 2018 والتي نظرت إلى الأمهات المصابات بسكري الحمل بعد حوالي 10 سنوات من تشخيصهن الأولي أثناء الحمل. في المرضى الذين لديهم تاريخ GDM ، تم تشخيص ما يقرب من 1 من كل 2 على أنه مصاب بمقدمات السكري أو مرض السكري. على النقيض من ذلك ، في المرضى الذين ليس لديهم تاريخ GDM ، أصيب 1 من كل 5 فقط بمرض السكري أو السكري.

ماذا يجب أن أعرف؟

· البيانات محدودة إلى حد ما حول استخدام بدائل السكر أثناء الحمل. حتى الآن ، لا توجد أي بيانات تشير إلى أن البدائل الشائعة (الأسبارتام ، السكرالوز ، السكرين ، إلخ) تزيد من خطر الإصابة بعيوب خلقية. ومع ذلك ، هناك بعض الدراسات التي تشير إلى أن استهلاك الأمهات لهذه الأدوية مرتبط بسمنة الأطفال ، لذلك يجب الحد من تناولها.

What is prediabetes?

· Prediabetes describes people who are at risk to develop diabetes. Like patients with diabetes, they often don’t have symptoms. If they do, the most common ones are increased frequency of urination, increased thirst, and blurry vision. These symptoms arise because of higher sugar levels in the blood stream. Fundamentally, the problem in diabetes is that the body either doesn’t produce enough of a signaling hormone called insulin to process sugar (type 1) or the body doesn’t respond to the insulin that is produced (type 2).

· More than 90% of diabetic patients are classified as type 2, and approximately 30% of Americans are can be considered to have prediabetes. Prediabetes can be detected through lab testing. In prediabetes, the blood sugar concentrations are higher than normal (fasting glucose >100, HbA1c >5.7), but do not meet the cut off for to be considered as diabetes (fasting glucose >126; HbA1c > 6.5).

If I have prediabetes, will I automatically get type 2 diabetes?

· No. People with prediabetes do have an increased risk to progress to diabetes. In fact, about one in four people with prediabetes will develop diabetes in five years. However, this progression is preventable through lifestyle modifications.

What changes can I make to prevent getting type 2 diabetes?

· The main risk factors that contribute to diabetes are being overweight and not being active. To prevent diabetes, the first steps would be to adjust diet and exercise.

· For dieting, the goal is to cut back on foods that are high in sugars, especially sugary drinks like sodas, while increasing intake of fruits and vegetables. Additionally, not all carbs are the same. We’ve known since the 80s that eating potatoes will raise the sugar peak much faster than eating the same amount of whole grains. Foods that have complex carbs and those with a higher fiber content release sugar more gradually rather a sharp peak. In contrast, processed foods tend and sugary drinks tend to have more simple sugars that raise the glucose level quicker.

· For exercising, try to be active for 30 minutes each day. Going to the gym is great, but even activities like walking are beneficial. A weight loss goal of 5-10% of body weight can significant decrease the risk of diabetes.

· If you are a smoker, quitting smoking is also helpful to reduce the risk and is beneficial for your cardiovascular health in the long run.

· If these first steps are not effective, the next approach would be to start medications. Metformin is a commonly utilized drug in patients with diabetes and has been shown to decrease the progression from prediabetes to diabetes.

If I have prediabetes, will it affect by ability to get pregnant?

· Yes. While we know that women with diabetes can get pregnant, the complete answer is that people with prediabetes usually have several associated conditions that can make getting pregnant more difficult. They tend to have more irregular periods, often because of the excess weight. Polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS) is

frequently found in women who have prediabetes and can also contribute to decreased fertility rates.

· More importantly, we know that women who have poorly controlled diabetes have almost double the miscarriage rate. They are also four times more like to have fetal congenital anomalies. These include cardiac defects and nervous system anomalies such as spinal bifida. Diabetic women who are able to get good glucose control do not have this risk.

· Later in the pregnancy, maternal complications from poorly controlled diabetes are mainly cardiovascular. These include preeclampsia and kidney damage. From the fetal perspective, because more sugar is in the blood stream, the baby tends to put on more weight. This excess weight increases the risk of birth injury, with shoulder and nerve injuries being the most common.

· After birth, babies born to diabetic moms can have fluctuations in their own sugar levels. This is because baby was more previously in a higher sugar environment, and the removal of that environment can lead them to develop low sugars.

What can I do to manage prediabetes during pregnancy?

· The best approach would be to control prediabetes before you even get pregnant. If you plan to get pregnant, it is helpful to meet with your physician for a preconception visit to review your medical history and perform a risk assessment. Every patient who intends to get pregnant should be screened for diabetes, thyroid function, and have their medication list thoroughly reviewed.

· During pregnancy, the first step is dietary. The goal should be to avoid single large meals with foods that quickly raise the blood sugar. This means choosing complex carbs such as whole grain over highly refined foods. I recommend three normal meals with additional snacks interspersed. I also recommend dietary counseling with a certified diabetes educator. Moms should be checking their sugars sugar fasting as well as after meals to gauge the efficacy of the dietary management.

· If dietary changes alone are insufficient, then the next step would be medications. These can come in the form of pills or insulin injections.

What is the relationship between prediabetes and gestational diabetes?

· These two are very closely connected. Gestational diabetes (GDM) is often the first sign that a woman will have prediabetes or diabetes down the road. The best data comes from a 2018 international, multiethnic study that looked at moms with gestational diabetes about 10 years after their initial diagnosis during pregnancy. In patient’s who had a GDM history, nearly 1 in 2 were diagnosed with prediabetes or diabetes. By contrast, in patients without a GDM history, only 1 in 5 developed prediabetes or diabetes.

What else should I know?

· The data is rather limited on the use of sugar substitutes in pregnancy. So far, there isn’t any data that suggest that the common substitutes (Aspartame, Sucralose, Saccharine, etc) increases the risk of birth defects. However, there are some studies that suggest that maternal consumption of these is linked with childhood obesity, so their intake should be limited.

[disabled]
[disabled]