避孕方法:您应该知道的

创建人:佛罗里达妇女保健人员

存在许多不同的避孕方法。 在选择一种方法之前,请确保您熟悉从宫内节育器到避孕药无法保护的一切。 佛罗里达州的妇女保健博士Ryan Brosch 分解关于避孕方法的常见问题。

哪种避孕方式可以防止怀孕和性传播感染?

防止妊娠和性病的唯一可靠避孕方式是屏障保护,例如男性和女性安全套。 其他避孕方式,例如避孕药,贴剂,阴道环等荷尔蒙方法,NEXPLANON或IUD等植入物只能预防怀孕,而不能预防性传播感染。

具有多个伴侣或暴露于具有多个伴侣的伴侣的任何人均应使用屏障保护措施以防止性传播感染。 他们还应考虑使用其他避孕方式,以减少意外怀孕的风险。

不同形式避孕的失败率是多少?

要真正了解避孕的失败率,我们应该知道典型使用与完美使用之间的区别。 典型的用法是普通人使用避孕药具的方式-有时会丢失剂量或例如不总是正确使用避孕套。 完美使用意味着每次都严格遵守制造商的建议使用隔离法或其他避孕方法。

使用c时的平均故障率每年约有15例意外怀孕中有100例发生。 通常使用激素方法的失败率约为10%至XNUMX%,而完美使用率仅为XNUMX-XNUMX%。 IUD和NEXPLANON具有与典型使用失败率相似的完美 每年少于百分之一.

长效可逆避孕药有什么好处?

长效避孕药是满足患者避孕需求的第一道防线,最大的好处是失败率低。 这些是植入式设备,一旦放置,可一次放置数年,以极少的日常不便提供出色的避孕效果。 某些可植入装置(例如NEXPLANON)或含有黄体酮的孕激素(例如Mirena或Kyleena),也可以抑制子宫内膜的子宫内膜,子宫内膜是在月经期间脱落的。 压下衬里会导致很短的时间甚至根本没有时间。

放置宫内节育器有哪些潜在风险?

放置宫内节育器的总体风险较低。 该过程本身确实需要骨盆镜检查。 该过程通常持续约五分钟。 插入设备后,患者可能会感到一些骨盆压力和骨盆痉挛,这种情况可以持续最初的24小时。 总体严重并发症发生率很低。 主要问题是子宫感染(不到百分之一),放置后被驱逐(百分之二到百分之十)和子宫穿孔:每千名患者中只有大约一例经历这种罕见的并发症。

宫内节育器会引起不孕吗?

没有证据表明在美国使用的任何当前生产的宫内节育器都会引起不孕。 在FDA管制医疗器械之前,已知制造不良的宫内节育器会增加盆腔炎和不孕症的风险。 由于这些风险,随后将它们从市场上删除了。 不幸的是,尽管有关于当前使用的宫内节育器的可靠的安全数据,这种污名仍然存在。

发表评论

[已停用]
[已停用]

Contraception Methods: What You Should Know


Many different contraception methods exist. Before you pick a method, be sure you are familiar with everything from an IUD to what birth control doesn’t protect. Women’s Care Florida’s Dr. Ryan Brosch breaks down frequently asked questions about contraception methods.

What form of contraception protects against pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections?

The only reliable form of contraception that protects against both pregnancy and STDs is barrier protection, such as male and female condoms. Other forms of contraception, such as hormonal methods like birth control pills, patch, vaginal ring, implants like NEXPLANON or IUDs only protect against pregnancy, and not sexually transmitted infections.

Any person with multiple partners or with exposure to a partner that has multiple partners should be using barrier protection to protect against sexually transmitted infections. They should also consider using an additional form of contraception to decrease the risk of unintended pregnancy.

What are the failure rates with different forms of contraception?

To truly understand failure rates of contraception, we should know the difference between typical vs. perfect use. Typical use is how the average person will use contraception—occasionally missing doses or not always using the condom correctly for instance. Perfect use means the barrier method or other contraceptive was used in strict adherence to the manufacturer’s recommendations every time.

Average failure rates when using condoms are about 15 out of 100 unintended pregnancies per year. Hormonal methods with typical use have about a five to 10 percent failure rate, with perfect use being only one to two percent. IUDs and NEXPLANON have similar perfect to typical use failure rates of less than one percent per year.

What are the benefits of long-acting reversible contraceptives?

Long-acting contraceptives are the first line of defense for patients’ contraceptive needs, with the greatest benefit being low failure rates. These are implantable devices that once placed, can stay in for years at a time, providing excellent contraception with the minimal daily inconvenience. Certain implantable devices, like NEXPLANON, or progesterone containing IUDs like Mirena or Kyleena, also provide hormonal suppression of the lining of the uterus called the endometrium, which is what sheds during menstruation. Suppressing the lining can cause very light periods or even no periods at all.

What are the potential risks for IUD placement?

The overall risk of IUD placement is low. The procedure itself does require a pelvic exam with a speculum. The procedure usually lasts approximately five minutes. The patient can expect some pelvic pressure and pelvic cramps when the device is inserted that can continue for the first 24 hours. The overall serious complication rate is quite low. Primary concerns are infection ( less than one percent) of the uterus, expulsion after placement (two to 10 percent) and uterine perforation: which only about one in 1000 patients experience this rare complication.

Do IUDs cause infertility?

There is no evidence that any currently manufactured IUDs used in the U.S. cause infertility. Before the FDA regulated medical devices, there were poorly made IUDs that were known to increase the risk of pelvic inflammatory disease and infertility. These were subsequently removed from the market due to these risks. Unfortunately, this stigma has persisted despite robust safety data available about the IUDs currently in use.