فحص سرطان القولون والمستقيم

بقلم: طاقم رعاية المرأة في فلوريدا

يعد سرطان القولون والمستقيم ثالث أكثر أنواع السرطانات شيوعًا بين الرجال والنساء. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فهو ثاني أكثر أسباب الوفاة شيوعًا بسبب السرطان. ومع ذلك ، يمكن الوقاية من سرطان القولون والمستقيم. علاوة على ذلك ، فهو أحد أكثر أنواع السرطان التي يمكن الوقاية منها. للحصول على أفضل وقاية ، يجب اتباع عادات صحية وإجراء فحص لسرطان القولون والمستقيم كل 10 سنوات على الأقل.

من يحتاج إلى فحص سرطان القولون؟

كل واحد يجب فحص سرطان القولون في مرحلة ما من حياتهم.

يجب أن يبدأ البالغ العادي في إجراء الفحص في سن الخمسين ما لم يكن لديك تاريخ عائلي أو مرض التهاب الأمعاء أو اضطراب وراثي. في مايو 50 ، أوصت جمعية السرطان الأمريكية يجب على الجميع بدء الفحص في سن 45. ومع ذلك ، فإن معظم شركات التأمين لا تغطي اختبارات فحص سرطان القولون في هذا العمر حتى الآن. علاوة على ذلك ، يجب أن يبدأ الأمريكيون من أصل أفريقي الفحص في سن 45. إذا تم تشخيص أحد أفراد الأسرة من الدرجة الأولى (الأم أو الأب أو الأخت أو الأخ) في سن 60 أو أقل ، فيجب إجراء أول تنظير للقولون قبل 10 سنوات من التشخيص ، أو في سن الأربعين - أيهما يحدث أولاً.

على سبيل المثال ، إذا تم تشخيص أخ لديك بسرطان القولون في سن 35 ، يجب أن يتم فحصك في سن 25.

فحوصات الكشف عن سرطان القولون والمستقيم

يمكن لطبيب الرعاية الأولية أن يطلب خيارات متعددة لاختبارات الفحص.

  • تكتشف اختبارات Hemoccult أو FIT البراز الدم المجهري (يتم إجراؤه مرة واحدة في السنة).
  • تكتشف اختبارات البراز Cologuard® تساقط الحمض النووي من الأورام الحميدة والسرطانات (يتم إجراؤها كل ثلاث سنوات).
  • تنظير القولون الافتراضي (يتم إجراؤه كل خمس سنوات).
  • التنظير السيني (يتم إجراؤه كل خمس سنوات).

الوقاية من سرطان القولون والمستقيم

أفضل خيار لفحص سرطان القولون والمستقيم والوقاية منه هو إجراء تنظير القولون من قبل أخصائي أمراض الجهاز الهضمي أو الجراح كل 10 سنوات. اسأل مزود رعاية المرأة في فلوريدا حول فحص سرطان القولون والمستقيم أو الاتصال أخصائية أمراض الجهاز الهضمي بولاية فلوريدا عناية المرأة ، الدكتورة دونا باول، في 813-392-1900.

اترك تعليق

Colorectal Cancer Screening

By: Women's Care Florida Staff

Colorectal cancer is the third most common cancer in both men and women. Additionally, it is the second most common cause of death from cancer. However, colorectal cancer can be prevented. Furthermore, it is one of the most preventable cancers. For the best prevention, you should engage in healthy habits and get a colorectal cancer screening at least every 10 years.

Who needs to be screened for colon cancer?

Everyone should be screened for colon cancer at some point in their lives.

The average adult should begin screenings at age 50 unless you have a family history, inflammatory bowel disease or genetic disorder. In May 2018, the American Cancer Society recommended that everyone should begin screenings at age 45. However, most insurance companies do not cover colon cancer screening tests at this age yet. Furthermore, African Americans should begin screening at age 45. If you have a first-degree family member (mother, father, sister or brother) diagnosed at age 60 or younger, you should have your first colonoscopy 10 years prior to when they were diagnosed, or at age 40—whichever happens first.

For example, if you have a brother diagnosed with colon cancer at age 35, you should get screened at 25.

Colorectal cancer screening tests

Your primary care physician can order multiple options for screening tests.

  • Hemoccult or FIT stool tests detect microscopic blood (performed once per year).
  • Cologuard® stool tests detect DNA shed from polyps and cancers (performed every three years).
  • Virtual colonoscopy (performed every five years).
  • Sigmoidoscopy (performed every five years).

Colorectal cancer prevention

The best option for colorectal cancer screening and prevention is to have a colonoscopy performed by a gastroenterologist or surgeon every 10 years. Ask your Women’s Care Florida provider about colorectal cancer screening or contact Women’s Care Florida gastroenterologist, Dr. Donna Powell, at 813-392-1900.

Leave a Reply